Kansas City, opinion, cocktails, snark.

January 1, 2010

Happy *ack*ack*ack* new year.

Filed under: Uncategorized — akcb @ 11:38 pm

New Year’s Eve was a bust. I had a fever of 101.5 and terrible sinus drainage, a belated Christmas gift from family. Feeling moderately better today, but have cancelled Sunday brunch since I don’t want to spread the Ick to all of my suburban friends. It’s especially sucky as I had scheduled vacation this week and nothing’s more disappointing than having time off and spending the majority of it in bed with your legs decidedly not in the air.

On the plus side, on the couple of days that I actually was feeling decent, I was able to break in the new canning equipment my folks got me. I made 4 pints of pickled green beans for future Bloody Mary & martini garnishing and several jars of Vanilla-Bourbon Peach Jam to give as gifts. Canning is pretty darned cool and I’m really looking forward to City Market time.

I’ve tivo’d the Anderson Cooper/Kathy Griffin NYE extravaganza (I understand she topped last year’s “slap the dick out of your mouth” comment with an F-bomb) so I’ve got that to look forward to.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

